Final Results of the 2021 Judith Wright Poetry Prize

Established in 2007 and supported by the Malcolm Robertson Foundation, the Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize seeks outstanding poetry from new and emerging writers.

This year’s stellar judges, Grace Yee, Keri Glastonbury and Toby Fitch (who is also Overland’s poetry editor) read over 600 entries before selecting a shortlist of nine outstanding works. The judges then chose three unforgettable poems to place 1st, 2nd and 3rd in this year’s prize. Look out for the winning poems in the autumn 2022 issue of Overland.

Overland, the judges and the Malcolm Robertson Foundation are thrilled to announce the final results of the 2021 Judith Wright Poetry Prize. Congratulations to the following poets.

First place ($6000)

Ender Baskan

‘are you ready poem’

Living amidst the cultural and material ruins of late capitalism the poet issues a rallying cry for artists and writers to make something dangerous and start an artists and writers league as a radical alternative to precarity and professionalisation.

Ender Baskan is a writer, a bookseller and a co-founder of Vre Books press. He makes work that rages and desires for and against this absurd world those to come. His book A Portrait of Alice as a Young Man was published in 2019.

Second place ($2000)

Gareth Morgan

‘the national debt’

‘the national debt’ is about what we want.

Gareth Morgan is the author of When a Punk Becomes a Spunk and co-director of Sick Leave.

Third place ($1000)

Lillian Rupcic


‘stones’ arises from the complex web that connects Lillian, her son and her disability, impressions on grief and pain, and echoes of this in nature.

Lillian Rupcic is a creative writer who lives with chronic pain and disability, on Peramangk land. She is passionate about poetry as a vessel for unravelling and becoming; writing is her bridge between intensely isolating, personal experiences and the outside world, an opening through which the invisible can be seen.


new-MRF-logo-2015-300x221The Judith Wright Poetry Prize is supported by the Malcolm Robertson Foundation



Overland is a not-for-profit magazine with a proud history of supporting writers, and publishing ideas and voices often excluded from other places.

If you like this piece, or support Overland’s work in general, please subscribe or donate.

Related articles & Essays