Share via:      



The Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize for New and Emerging Poets 2007–2020

ISBN 978064859748
235 mm x 191 mm
238 pages

- +

Anthology of Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize for New and Emerging Poets winners from the prize’s inception in 2007 to 2020. This superb anthology has been edited and compiled by Overland‘s current poetry editor, Toby Fitch.

Named after one of Australia’s most politically conscious poets, the Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize for New and Emerging Poets, the richest of its kind in the southern hemisphere, has unearthed some outstanding poets, many of whom are now mainstays in the poetic landscape. This book is an anthology of the winning poems from the first fourteen years of the prize. Not just a historical catalogue, the anthology includes a slew of other poems by the winning poets, showing off their development since featuring in the prize, and traversing much of the topography of Australian poetry in the early twenty-first century.

‘Judith Wright’s vanguard promise has emboldened progressive poets for decades, and the poems collected here flare with her bright yearning for justice, compassion and fidelity.’
—Peter Minter

‘An audacious, determined, polyphonous and dynamic anthology, Groundswell is conversant with the crises of now.’
—John Kinsella

‘… allows the reader to follow the wind as it whips across this exhilarating and finely calibrated poetic field.’
—Keri Glastonbury

‘… an impressive and valuable book.’
—Pam Brown

The prize and anthology are made possible with the support of the Malcolm Robertson Foundation and a bequest from philanthropist and author Neilma Gantner.

Weight 0.408 kg
Dimensions 23.5 × 1.6 × 19.3 cm

Share via: