Final Results of the 2019 Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize

Overland and the Malcolm Robertson Foundation are thrilled to announce the entries that placed in the Overland 2019 Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize!

This year’s star judges, Hannah Kent, Joshua Mostafa and Margo Lanagan, rose to the challenging task of selecting a shortlist of eight pieces from over 450 entries, before narrowing the shortlist down to three exceptional stories. They have praised the stories that placed this year as ‘inventive’ ‘evocative’ and ‘incandescent’.

First place will receive $4000 and the two runners-up will receive a prize of $500 each. Overland will publish the winning story and judges’ notes in our autumn 2020 edition, with the two runner-up stories published online.

Overland, the judges and the Malcolm Robertson Foundation are thrilled to announce the results of the 2019 Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize.

First place

‘The Houseguest’ – Jenah Shaw


New to the city and needing a place to stay, a young woman becomes a guest in the home of family with no extra room.

Jenah Shaw has worked as an editor and freelance writer in New Zealand and Japan. While her post-graduate study focused on modernist literature, her writing interests are varied. She currently lives in Wellington.



‘Westernport Crossing’ – Elisabeth Passmore

In 1933, eleven year-old Rex Simpson is sent to a boys’ home on Phillip Island where the only way out is by boat.

Elisabeth Passmore lives in Sydney. She has been longlisted for the ABR, Elizabeth Jolley and Peter Carey Short Story awards and twice shortlisted for the Overland VU Short Story Award.



‘The Postcard from Nowheresville’ – Alan Sincic

Meet a grifter who conjures up out of a cow pasture and a surplus army projector a magical drive-in, The Piney Vista — Vistarama they call it – a picture of the world the way it ought to be, night after night, burned up onto a screen bright as a sheet of beach at the drop of the tide.

A teacher at Valencia College, Alan Sincic‘s fiction has appeared in New Ohio ReviewThe Greensboro ReviewHunger MountainBig Fiction Magazine, A-3 Press, The Gateway ReviewCobalt, and elsewhere. He recently won The Texas Observer Short Story Contest and the Adrift Short Story Contest (Driftwood Press).


Thank you to all of the writers who submitted their work for consideration!

Image: Jean Frenna/Canva

new-MRF-logo-2015-300x221The Neilma Sidney Prize is supported by the Malcolm Robertson Foundation

Overland is a not-for-profit magazine with a proud history of supporting writers, and publishing ideas and voices often excluded from other places.

If you like this piece, or support Overland’s work in general, please subscribe or donate.

Related articles & Essays