Overland’s prizes

For several years now, Overland has been hosting a number of prestigious prizes, with support from organisations such as the Malcolm Robertson Foundation, Victoria University, Story Wines and the National Union of Workers. In 2016, we’re pleased to again run both the NUW Fair Australia and the Neilma Sidney Short Story prizes.

Below is the list of prizes we’re running this year, along with their opening dates. Visit the individual prize page to find out details and guidelines.

Overland NUW Fair Australia Prize

Worth $20,000. Now open.

Judges: Melissa Lucashenko, Samuel Wagan Watson, Rebecca Giggs, Sam Wallman, Safdar Ahmed,  Toby Fitch, Ellena Savage, Jacinda Woodhead, Carina Garland, Emma Kerin and Godfrey Moase.

Story Wine Prize

Worth $5000. Now open.

Judges to be announced.

Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize

Worth $5000. Now closed. Will reopen 12 September 2016.

Judith Wright Poetry Prize for New and Emerging Poets

Worth $9000. Now closed. Will reopen 12 September 2016.

Nakata Brophy Short Fiction and Poetry Prize for Young Indigenous Writers

Prize: $5000 and a three-month residency. Now closed. Will reopen at the end of 2016.

Overland Victoria University Short Story Prize for New and Emerging Writers

Worth $8000. Now closed. Will reopen in 2017.