New editors, new competition, new poem

Overland is pleased to announce the appointment of new editors for 2011. From edition 202, the poetry editor is Peter Minter and the fiction editor is Jane Gleeson-White.

Peter Minter is a leading contemporary Australian poet, editor and scholar. He is the author of numerous books of poetry, including Empty Texas and blue grass, co-editor of Calyx: 30 Contemporary Australian Poets and was poetry editor at Meanjin from 2000-2005. His work appears in The Penguin Book of Modern Australian Poetry and many other Australian and international publications, and has been honoured with numerous prizes and awards including The Age Poetry Book of the Year award (Empty Texas), the Marten Bequest Travelling Scholarship (Poetry) and fellowships from the Literature Board of the Australian Council for the Arts. His most recent projects include co-editing the Macquarie PEN Anthology of Aboriginal Literature and the Macquarie PEN Anthology of Australian Literature. He lectures in Indigenous Studies and Poetics at the University of Sydney.

Jane Gleeson-White is a PhD student in creative writing at the University of New South Wales. She is the author of two books about books – Classics and Australian Classics – and her third book, Double Entry: a monk, two columns and a cultural revolution, will be published in 2011. She has worked as a freelance editor since 1997, working with writers such as Christos Tsiolkas, Malcolm Knox, Luke Davies and Charlotte Wood. She has spoken widely at festivals and universities on editing and being edited, and about the collaborative nature of writing and the essential place of editing in the creative process.

We thank Keri Glastonbury and Kalinda Ashton for their outstanding work over many years, and wish them well with future pursuits.

Malcolm Robertson Foundation logoCompetition
The 2010 Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize for New and Emerging Poets, sponsored by the  Malcolm Robertson Foundation is now open.

The major prize has increased to $5000, with two runner-up prizes of $1000.

The judge of the 2010 Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize for New and Emerging Poets is Peter Minter. The closing date is Monday 15 November 2010. The winners will be announced in March 2011.

For more about Judith Wright’s contribution to Australian poetry and Australian life, check out Georgie Arnott’s review of Wright’s correspondence.

Entry form | guidelines | 2008 results | 2009 results |

The winner of the 2009 competition was Derek Motion. In Overland 200, he collated a special anniversary poem, composed collectively by some of Australia’s finest writers. The poem, ‘Before Elapsing’, is now online.

Overland is a not-for-profit magazine with a proud history of supporting writers, and publishing ideas and voices often excluded from other places.

If you like this piece, or support Overland’s work in general, please subscribe or donate.

Related articles & Essays