About Overland

Overland, the most radical of Australia’s long-standing literary and cultural magazines, celebrates its 60th year in 2014.

Overland’s mission is to foster new, original and progressive work exploring the relationship between politics and culture, especially literature, and to bring that work to as many people as possible.

Overland values:

  • the wide dissemination of new, challenging and progressive ideas about politics and culture, showcasing Australia to the world and the world to Australia;
  • participation in political and cultural debates and controversies, with an interventionist rather than passive orientation;
  • aesthetic excellence, encouraging contributors to achieve their best;
  • democratisation of politics and culture, providing room for diverse and marginal voices alongside the established and the authoritative;
  • social justice, in the broadest sense of that term, applied to both the cultural and political spheres.

Overland publishes a quarterly print journal of essays, fiction, poetry and reviews, and an online magazine of cultural commentary, updated most days, as well as irregular online-only editions of fiction and poetry. It holds events, discussions and debates in writers’ festivals and similar forums throughout Australia. It hosts a number of major literary competitions, with an orientation to emerging writers.

Overland accepts unsolicited writing for both the print and online journals, and is committed to paying all its writers.

Overland is published by a not-for-profit organisation. It depends on its community for support. If you like what you read, please take out a subscription.

Editor: Jacinda Woodhead

Publisher: Alex Skutenko

Associate Editor: Bec Zajac

Consulting Editor: John Marnell

Editorial Intern: Robert D Wood

Fiction Editor: Jennifer Mills

Poetry Editor: Peter Minter

Contributing Editor: Clare Strahan

Proofreader: David Hudson

Website Producer: Benjamin Laird

Graphic Designer: Brent Stegeman



Hon Barry Jones AO: Professorial Fellow in the Faculty of Education at University of Melbourne, former Minister for Science; former National President of the ALP.

Overland is published by:

O L Society Limited: Room 128 Building E, Victoria University, Ballarat Road, Footscray VIC 3011. Incorporated in Victoria.
ABN: 78 007 402 673.


Mr Richard Llewellyn (chair): Co-founder and CEO of Llewellyn & Associates and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and Australian Institute of Company Directors.
Ms Alex Skutenko (secretary): Overland’s editorial coordinator and publisher.
Mr Andrew Leggatt (treasurer): Supply Chain Manager – Vistaprint Australia Pty Ltd.
Dr Nathan Hollier (deputy chair): Former editor of Overland, Director of Monash University Publishing.
Associate Professor Bronwyn Cran: Dean, College of Arts, Victoria University.
Ms Shannon-Kate Archer: Qualified lawyer, Senior Research Analyst Workplace Relations for the Australian Fair Pay Commission and Fair Work Australia.
Mr Benjamin Laird: computer programmer; electronic poet; former  Geek-in-Residence at Australian Poetry;  PhD candidate RMIT University.
Professor John McLaren: Emeritus Professor, Victoria University. Former editor of Overland and founding editor of the second, current series of Australian Book Review.
Mr David Murray-Smith: Son of founding editor Stephen Murray-Smith, and Portfolio Projects Manager at Police, Emergency Services and Corrections, Department of Justice, Victoria.
Mr Malcolm Neil: Director of Vendor Relations, Kobo Australia NZ, former Director at Small Press Underground Networking Community, former Chief Executive Officer, Australian Booksellers Association.
Ms Jeannie Rea: National President of National Tertiary Education Union.
Dr Jeff Sparrow: writer, editor of Overland.
Mr John Timlin: Literary agent and theatre producer.
Ms Jacinda Woodhead: Deputy editor of Overland; PhD candidate Victoria University

Overland is distributed to book shops by:

Peribo Pty Limited: 58 Beaumont Road, Mt Kurin-gai NSW 2080.
Tel: 02 9457 0011. Email: info[at]peribo.com.au


SPN logoOverland is a member of SPN: the Small Press Network.